God & Me – August, 2002

22755_1318727132070_5052395_n

Since 1983 I have kept a red journal–well, actually the last four are red, a theme I continued after my  oldest sister gave me my first red journal as a going away gift when my family & I moved to Canada.  The first journal is blue, given to me by my Rangerette Big Sis in 1983 and the second is a fabric-covered book–a popular crafty item of the late 80’s.

The blue and fabric journals are the yearnings and learnings of my younger self in the midst of college and meeting and falling in love with my now husband of almost 26 years.  Those may be posted at another time–look forward to the prequel:)

The Red Journals begin at a time when God and I got serious.  Prior to my first entry, I had begun my own version of the prayer of Jabez.  Unbeknownst to me, my husband, Greg, was actually praying the Jabez prayer at the same time.  Well, God showed up and expanded our territory and moved us from Texas to Canada and then back to Texas 18 months later into a month-to-month apartment with three grade schoolers and no job.   And that’s where the first red journal begins.

I’ll tell you more about myself as I go along with each entry, but you should know that I’m a fairly private person.  Opening these pages and reliving them as I type seems necessary now that I am empty-nesting.  I won’t be holding anything back–no editing from my early morning scribbling while curled up on our red club chair, with the requisite coffee.  I’m ‘putting it out there’ because of His leading and I hope it resonates.

~jw

August, 2002-Feb, 2003

August, 2002-Feb, 2003

My Red Journals

Journal 1~red felt w/ white stitched heart on cover & tassel book mark

Intro page~ I have learned so much about praying over the last six months during our ‘pruning’ and pathway to ‘yielding more fruit’ as our family looks for another job.

I am humbled, grateful, and in awe of God’s love for me, Greg and our children.  I am amazed that all I need to simply do is ask and God will provide and provide in ways immensely beyond anything I could imagine.  After praying continually for the past five months regarding Greg’s next job, caring for our family, allowing us to stay til the end of the school year and to finish out my opportunities at the studio and the competitive teams, God has answered all.  Now, here are my specific prayers for this month, August, 2002, to always remind me of how good God is to me.  That’s it.

RJ1-August, 2002

Tuesday, August 6, 2002

Lord,

We are praying for a 1,2,3 miracle!  1) please allow Greg to get a job with Perot Systems in a leadership position, where his honesty and integrity and Christian values can have an impact to multitudes; 2) please allow us to purchase the house; and 3) allow us to transfer the kids to McKinney schools by Aug. 18.

Lord, please tell me how to pray this specifically for a miracle while still allowing and understanding Your will and plan.

Daily Bread for Aug.6 is Romans 8:25~”We are saved by trusting.  And trusting means looking forward to getting something we don’t have yet—for a man who already has something, need not to hope and trust that he will get it.  But if we must keep trusting God for something that hasn’t happened yet, it teaches us to wait patiently and confidently.”

Yeah, God!!  I have been praying to be more connected to You and yearning for your Holy Spirit and the next day, there You are!  Thank you so much.

Wednesday, August 7, 2002

Around March 5th I watched the final show of Survivor and the winner said she clung to a verse in Habakkuk to keep her focused on God and her goal.  Curiosity led me to read and find which verse in that book it was.  Habakkuk 2:2-3~”And the Lord said to write my answer on a billboard, large and clear so anyone can read it at a glance and rush to tell the others. But these things I plan won’t happen right away.  Slowly, steadily, surely, the time approaches when the vision will be fulfilled.  If it seems slow, do not despair, for these things will surely come to pass.  Just be patient!  They will not be overdue a single day!

I have continually clung to this verse during this time.  Now, today, during my Bible study, and time with You, Lord,  am thumbing through God’s Promises, the book given to me by Valerie (Lord, I pray that I may one day be able to thank her for that book and tell her how much I continually refer to it), I looked in the index under ‘waiting on God,’ and there in that section was Habakkuk 2:2-3!  I have been reading that over and over again and now You lead me right back there again!  Now, I’ve read Greg’s Leadership Bible’s version of these verses and they say that the entire book of Habakkuk is about leadership.  Oh, thank You, Lord Jesus, for answering prayers.  I have prayed many times before to be taught to be a good leader as a mother and teacher.  And Greg, of course has prayed the same for home and his career.

I can see through following Your Word and praying daily that You are preparing us for something Big!  Thank You, Lord!  Thank You for Your Abundance even before we know what it is!!

Leave a Reply

