Dancing Desires

Me teaching at the Mississauga School of Dance in Canada, 2001

Me teaching at the Mississauga School of Dance in Canada, 2001

I have taught dance since high school.  Well, actually I forced my best friend Mandy when we were in the 3rd grade to perform a dance I taught her for her mother in the living room.  Mandy, who is the spitting image of The Pioneer Woman with blonde hair & the same sweet, spicy spirit, was shy, but agreed because, me, forever the encourager, said, ‘You’ll be great!’  And I was right!  And I’ve been right with every other dancer I’ve taught for more than 25 years.  Two left feet??  Pffttt!!  Confidence, practice, perseverance & prayer (on at least my part, but hopefully their part too) is the ticket!

IMG_4747I’ve choreographed & taught hip hop, tap, drillteam, musical theatre, ballroom, jazz for all ages & talent levels in every kind of venue you can think of–stage, studio, gym, basement, Sunday school classroom, foyer & living room of every house I’ve lived in.  And  up until the last 3 years, most has been volunteer or bartered.  The picture above is one of the 4 classes I taught at the Mississauga School of Dance in Canada.  There I taught Elementary, teen, adult recreational hip hop, as well as 2 competitive teams.

My girls, Liza & Lena, in full costume for my junior competitive hip hop team routine to 'Hangin' Up On You'.  Dang, I had those girls, throw, stomp, drag & catapult that doll for 'all of his lies'!!;)

My girls, Liza & Lena, in full costume for my Canadian junior competitive hip hop team routine to ‘Hangin’ Up On You’. Dang, I had those girls, throw, stomp, drag & catapult that doll for ‘all of his lies’!!;)

Me, Lena & Liza with the prop doll I made for their competitive routine from the body of an old Caillou doll.  I ripped the face off & painted on the growling expression.  To set the paint, my mother-in-law suggested that I stick the dolls head in the oven & let its feet hang outside.  When my husband came home & saw a kid hanging out of the oven, he didn't bat an idea--living with a creative is like that!

Me, Lena & Liza with the prop doll I made for their competitive routine from the body of an old Caillou doll. I ripped the face off & painted on the growling expression. To set the paint, my mother-in-law suggested that I stick the doll’s head in the oven & let its feet hang outside. When my husband came home & saw a kid hanging out of the oven, he didn’t bat an eye–living with a creative is like that!

In the August 27th entry below, I cry out to God while sitting in our small month-to-month Texas apartment for a dance studio for me and my girls.  He answered soon after and sent us to Academy of Dance Arts in Allen, where I am now celebrating my 11th year teaching hip hop & musical theatre.

As I read these entries now, I am struck at the revelation that ‘the Old Testament tells of Your truths to unfold & the New Testament tells of the truths fulfilled through Your Word made flesh’ (see entry)….The old journal prayers foretell the new truths.  When I am journaling, God will reveal His wonders through my pen, taking control of my thoughts and actions.  He does the same when we choreograph together; he plays the mind movie, and I execute.  Creating with my Creator is my addiction.

Monday, August 26, 2002

I feel led, Oh, Jehovah, to read & study Jeremiah.  I’ve just begun and his story is desolate.  You told him of warnings to the people of Judah to turn from sin and look to You.  They refused & Jeremiah tried to warn them of Your wrath.  What is the purpose of this study?  First, I am to read Jeremiah 33 & now I am to start at the beginning?  Help me to understand, please.  I’d rather hear of happiness & solutions.

Tuesday, August 27, 2002

I am tired.  How long?  I am bored, but am glad for the time.  Help me, Jehovah, to find a dance studio for the girls & I.  Constantly starting over is old.  Oh to be established.  Oh to have roots!  This apartment is confining, although I am grateful for you abundance.

Lord, protect us financially  Taxes are due–an unexpected amount!  Please provide.

Give me strength today.  Raise my chin.  Make me dance.

Wednesday, August 28, 2002

Lord, I pray for my spirit to be filled with our Holy Spirit.  I am tired & need You to carry me.

“All that is required is that you really believe and have no doubt!  Listen to me! You can pray for anything, and if you believe, you have it; it’s yours!”  Mark 11:23-24 (The Message)

Thursday, August 29, 2002

“Yes, ask anything using my name, and I will do it”  John 14:14

Lord, Jesus, I pray that You be with Wesley.  Protect him with Your Holy Spirit.  Watch him & guide him that he may one day be able to call you ‘Lord’ & know that You kept him during this time.

Jehovah, I also pray for all of the kids.  Please put Your protective presence & Spirit inside of Laney, Kara, Sara, Lexi, Brooke & Jade.  Let them know how wonderful they are & that You are there.  Give them peace through trials & comfort.  Give them strength to combat pressures.  Thank You, oh Holy God, for raising them up to You.

I pray that I take my focus off waiting on Your answer & 1) be thankful, once again, for all that You’ve done & all that You will do & 2) focus on others & what I can do for You now.

Lord, what can I do for You now?  I pray that You reveal this to me.

Sunday, September 1, 2002

Lord, You truly are a father who lives by example.  The Old Testament tells of Your truths to unfold & the New Testament tells of the truths fulfilled through Your Word made flesh.  You knew that children would need to see, hear, touch & smell the truth to understand it.  And then You love me beyond all understanding.

You bore all of our pain–physical, sorrow, anger, resentment, pride, foolishness, want & greed–on the cross forever.  Therefore, I don’t need to experience all of this You do this for me!  I must be responsible, remorseful & repent, but You take all of my worries!  That is why…You are why.  I can endure this journey & be peaceful & thankful.  I hope You are proud of me.

“Be strong & brave, for you will be a successful leader of my people; and they shall conquer all the land I promised to their ancestors.”  Joshua 1:6

My “Listening” study led me to Joshua 1:7-8, but it’s verse 6 that jumped out to me; Jehovah, I believe You are preparing me for leadership.  I pray that the opportunities leading to that time will present themselves & that if that time is now, that You would give me courage to notice & recognize & accept the challenge.  You are awesome.

I feel I must commit to memory the ten commandments:  1)  You may worship no other God than me; 2) Make no idols; 3) Do not use God’s name in vain; 4) The Sabbath is a holy day; 5) Honor your father & mother; 6) Do not murder; 7) Do not commit adultery; 8) Do not steal; 9) Do not lie; 10) Do not covet neighbor’s house spouse or possessions.  Exodus 20:3-17

Thank You for Your Holy Spirit through all of these years.  Thank You for watching me, guiding me, averting my wrong decision, for making me confident & sure in myself & ultimately in You.

I pray for the Holy Spirit to pray for me.  Only You know what we should pray for.  Tell me what & whom I should pray for & help, dear Jesus.  In the name of Jesus.

Leave a Reply

