Aside

Led to Lead

Me performing as the head of an orphanage in our church musical, "A Time for Christmas."  That's tiny little Cody in the blue nightgown on the left and Liza on my right.  Lena isn't in this shot, but we all danced and sang with wooden spoons about how God would provide our breakfast--in an English accent, no less:)

Me performing as the head of an orphanage in our church musical, “A Time for Christmas.” That’s tiny little Cody in the blue nightgown on the left and Liza on my right. Lena isn’t in this shot, but we all danced and sang “With a Little Bit of Faith” with wooden spoons about how God would provide our breakfast–in an English accent, no less:)

A verse from my 2002 prayer journal from Joshua 1:6 (below) says, ‘you will be a successful leader of my people.’ I have been honored to teach children and adults of all ages and talent levels that they can dance.  Claiming ‘two left feet’ is not an excuse, merely a challenge.   Thank you, God for leading me to lead.

I hope you are enjoying looking back into MyRedJournals and seeing how God answers prayers and that by learning about His Word, He brings us closer to Him.

Tuesday, September 10, 2002

Today’s Daily Bread is from Romans 5:25:  “For because of our faith, He has brought us into this place of highest privilege where we now stand, and we confidently & joyfully look forward to actually becoming all that God has in mind for us to be.  We can rejoice, too, when we run into problems & trials for we know that they are good for us–they help us learn to be patient.  And patience develops strength of character in us & helps us trust God more each time we use it until finally our hope & faith are strong & ready.  Then, when that happens, we are able to hold our heads high no matter what happens & know that all is well for we know how dearly God loves us & we feel this warm love everywhere within us because God has given us the Holy Spirit to fill our hearts with His love.”

“Don’t be selfish; don’t live to make a good impression on others.  Be humble thinking of others as better than yourself.  Don’t just think about your own affairs, but be interested in others, too & in what they are doing.”    Philippian 2:3-4

I will send a letter to Jill with this verse because it speaks.

32211_1478187118470_439962_n

A small in church in Allen displays a mini Arlington Memorial each Independence Day. Photo credit: PorchBaby

September 11, 2002

Dear Jesus, I pray for our country.  Please give us peace.  Please help us as a nation to look to You, Jesus Christ, for understanding and comfort.  I pray for all of the families of the victims that they may find strength through Your goodness.  Carry them gently through.  I pray for President Bush.  Give him courage to say Your name, Jesus!  And to seek Your guidance continually as he leads our country and fights evil.  I pray for our attackers, Jesus.  Impress in their hearts to wash away their evil instincts.  Plant seeds instead that will sprout gardens of love for life & You.  I pray for Isreal, Iraq & Iran & Afghanistan.  Instill love for one another, because out of our faith, hope & love the greatest of these is love.

ingodwetrust

I pray for the spiritual revival that has begun will be the only fires we see in America and across the world!  I pray for the average person to speak boldly of Your name–me included!  I pray that the evil resistance we have towards ‘in God we trust’ & ‘one nation under God’ in our long-standing public documents & pledges will be defeated!  May we always be able to say ‘in God we trust’ and  may we affirmatively, in this nation & the world, claim You, Jesus Christ, as our Lord & Savior!

Jesus, Bless America!

September 13, 2002

Never give up.  Keep the faith…in You & in Your planfor me, Greg, our family & potential companies of employment (& how we can minister & be ministered); for Your ultimate purpose in putting people in certain places & situations.

Lord, please be with Greg’s colleague from EDS who was just in another car accident.  Put Your arms around him, his wife & daughter.  Knock on their hearts so that they know You are there & that You love them.

Lord, I pray for our children.   Please put a drive in Lena for improving her English & Math grades. Be with me as I assist her with her studies and homework; I can be harsh & impatient without Your hands holding me.

I pray for Liza.  May she continue to do well with her grades & compassion.  Thank You for her innate compassion.

Lord, I pray for Cody.  May he also continue to do well in school.  He really listens & takes corrections well.  I pray that his confidence continues to blossom.

Lord, I am so proud of Cody being baptized this Sunday.  he is a smart, sensitive, understanding son with a true heart for You.  May he enjoy his public confession of faith & may this be the beginning of a long life of discipleship & closeness to You.

Monday, September 16, 2002

“Be strong and brave, for you will be a successful leader of my people, and they shall conquer all the land I promised to their ancestors.”  Joshua 1:6

I will continue to pray like the nagging woman in Luke 18:1-8.  Lord, hear my prayer.

Lord, thank you for watching me.  Holding me.  Your power & love is vast for me & so many I care for & know about.  Your plan for me and everyone around the world is exciting to watch You were in the fires & destruction of the WTC.  You are moving the world toward Isreal as You said would be true.  Through hess worldly events & technology, internet, email, advancements in transportation, medicine, You move toward Your goal, all the while meeting our trivial requests for our small ives.  You are the color fuchsia & periwinkle.  You are the vibrancy in little babies’ eyes.  You are all that is good & right & necessary.  And You love me.  You make me feel important, special, unique.  You’ve given me excitement about the gifts You’ve given me that it’s hard to be humble.  I pray to humble.  I feel You leading me to be more humble.

Lord, here is my request…again.  You’ve heard it, I’ve said many, many ways & time & time again.  Your will be done… with y talents, Greg’s job, our home, our kids, us as a family.  We pray for Greg to have a job by the end of this September.  We pray for a house for us to prosper, in Jesus’ name.  And we pray for Lena & Liza & Cody to be in a school where they, too can learn & work & use their talents for You.

I pray for courage for all of us to accept Your answer & the world’s reaction to our decision.  Oh, the things You have in store for us! I can’t wait to see what You’ve got!

Leave a Reply

